Booklet: Final Outcome & Evaluation

Please find below a PDF copy of my final outcome for my last term studying the Level 3 BTEC in Graphic Design: The Greatest Supercars of the 1980s: A Top 10

Car Magazine

Review and evaluate own final outcome – 350 words. (task 4)

I am incredibly pleased and proud of my final outcome and for my work overall during my time studying for the level 3 BTEC in Graphic Design. The top 10 80s supercars booklet, with this particular piece in mind, I worked very hard on the research both educationally and in executing all the design principles to the best of my ability. I conducted both primary and secondary research such as photographing other magazines and booklets specifically on cars and retro material, studying their designs and recreating these techniques in my own way to demonstrate an understanding and awareness of different design principles such as balance, hierarchy, organisation of the typographic elements to spacing. I collected an extensive folder of images for each model of supercar to use on each double spread alongside their respective manufacturer logos and organised all the information including headings and specification I was to going to need to develop my work on a separate word document that I could use to move these elements onto the canvas within InDesign. I used Photoshop to edit various Images in size and re-colour logos to keep to the overall scheme.

I attended college several days a week in my free time between classes to work on the booklet and tweak my designs, I feel I was successful in keeping to a theme in which each page felt natural in following the previous in style, but unique to the particular vehicle I featured. However, in retrospect, to improve upon my design, I would like to have featured a more prominent headline, with subheadings to differentiate each topic of discussion, a running head outside of the bleed margin to highlight each vehicle by number and review the contents page where I did not match the car by page number but rather in order from 1-10 as you read. I could have added a few more captions to Images to further reinforce what the reader is looking at; these points would have improved navigation, but overall I am happy with the outcome.

Published by Jake Roberts

Hello

Leave a comment